saggingbookshelves

Have you seen this book yet?

Talking Books at Target

I really was just trying to get some milk from the dairy case….really. I happened to overhear two lovely women talking about their middle school children and how they might choose appropriate books for them to read. I couldn’t resist and (probably rudely) inserted myself into their conversation. They are right. How do you, as a parent, select appropriate books for your child? Their kids had already read books like Tom Angleberger’s Origami Yoda  series and were looking for something a bit more challenging. But these women didn’t want them reading beyond their own life experience. They sounded like very sensible parents.

I told them about this blog and I hope they take a look. (Hi!) Here are some resources that might help:

Capitol Choices – click here for the description of this excellent book list and the group that produces it. It’s a WONDERFUL resource.

acquia_marina_logo

https://saggingbookshelves.wordpress.com/2014/04/

I published a book called Choosing to Read: Connecting Middle Schoolers with Books (Heinemann, 2012) that features lists of books that appeal to middle school kids.


9780325031446_p0_v1_s260x420

The American Library Association has a web presence at www.ala.org that offers full lists of books for reluctant teen readers, the Newbery winners, Caldecott winners, Printz winners (for YA), and numerous others. It’s a great way to look at what has received recognition over the years. Don’t just look at the titles, though; notice authors whose names tend to come up again and again. It’s likely their work is strong enough to merit multiple mentions.

I also mentioned my Best Bets for the Classroom lists and adding them to this blog has been on my list of things to do. I will make that a priority.

That’s all for now. I may add to this and create a new category when time permits. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

