saggingbookshelves

Have you seen this book yet?

George in the Dark by Madeline Valentine

9780449813348_p0_v1_s600

I swear, every child is afraid of the dark at some point. I remember starting to  read to my 2nd grade students (years ago now) a book on that very topic. I asked if anyone was afraid of the dark and, to a child, they all said that they weren’t. Really. Really? I told them when I was a kid I was afraid of monsters climbing up into my bed so I was careful every night to make sure my covers weren’t hitting the floor because, of course, that’s how the monsters would arrive. Once I told them that they all started confessing that they were afraid of all kinds of things. It was hilarious. That led to talk about how sometimes we’re afraid of things that we really don’t need to be afraid of. It was awesome. This book, George in the Dark, is about a little boy who hates for the lights to be turned out when it’s time for bed. He imagines all kinds of scary things around him when, in fact, it’s the very same toys he played with that day that only look scary in the shadows. He reaches for his teddy bear and teddy isn’t in the bed. He scans the room and sees teddy all alone in a corner of the room. That’s when George starts getting brave. He wouldn’t want to be all alone in a corner in the dark so he makes a run for it and saves teddy! When he’s safely back in bed with teddy tucked in George starts feeling pretty darn brave after all. Kids will like this one and it provides them a way to talk about fears without feeling like a nincompoop. Try it out. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

